Companies like Messagelabs and Postini provide inbound and outbound mail filtering for spam, virus, archiving etc.
They do so by 'sitting in front of' your mail server in the form of MX records.
Meanwhile, companies like AOL filter spam aggressively by checking the apparent sender domain against the senders IP.
So if Im sending email from jon@company123.com and the IP that appears when you lookup my IP - would normally resolve to mail.company123.com but instead resolves to cluster3.eu.messagelabs.com. or similar.
I recently had an experience where AOL blocked a domain, and refused to remove the block because the sending IP did not belong to 'company123'... it belonged to (and resolved to!) messagelabs.
Surely I cannot be the only one in this boat with Messagelabs, Postini or any other number of mail filtering services? I have correctly configured SPF 1&2, SenderID and Domainkeys.
When i spoke to Messagelabs - I did not get intelligent responses. ie. Messagelabs had no clue.
It seems a fundamental problem and one that it not going to go away?
Message Labs, Postini are both pretty decent firms and I doubt they would develop a product with such an obvious flaw. This leads me to believe that they don't intend you to do mass mailings to B2C domains.
If this is true then your only option (other than employing the services of a company like Pure).....
Setup a new domain and mail sever without message labs on it, you can then apply domain keys, SPF, sender ID, feedback loops and all the other gubbins. Or if it is possible at your end create a subdomain of your main domain again with the same records.
Not exactly original thinking on my part but I hope it helps.
Marc Pure marc.munier@pure360.com
On 09:54:57 26 February 2008 JonBov wrote:
Hi
Companies like Messagelabs and Postini provide inbound and outbound mail filtering for spam, virus, archiving etc.
They do so by 'sitting in front of' your mail server in the form of MX records.
Meanwhile, companies like AOL filter spam aggressively by checking the apparent sender domain against the senders IP.
So if Im sending email from jon@company123.com and the IP that appears when you lookup my IP - would normally resolve to mail.company123.com but instead resolves to cluster3.eu.messagelabs.com. or similar.
I recently had an experience where AOL blocked a domain, and refused to remove the block because the sending IP did not belong to 'company123'... it belonged to (and resolved to!) messagelabs.
Surely I cannot be the only one in this boat with Messagelabs, Postini or any other number of mail filtering services? I have correctly configured SPF 1&2, SenderID and Domainkeys.
When i spoke to Messagelabs - I did not get intelligent responses. ie. Messagelabs had no clue.
It seems a fundamental problem and one that it not going to go away?
Director of eCommerce at A well known Telco
26 February 2008 09:54am
Hi
Companies like Messagelabs and Postini provide inbound and outbound mail filtering for spam, virus, archiving etc.
They do so by 'sitting in front of' your mail server in the form of MX records.
Meanwhile, companies like AOL filter spam aggressively by checking the apparent sender domain against the senders IP.
So if Im sending email from jon@company123.com
and the IP that appears when you lookup my IP - would normally resolve to mail.company123.com but instead resolves to cluster3.eu.messagelabs.com. or similar.
I recently had an experience where AOL blocked a domain, and refused to remove the block because the sending IP did not belong to 'company123'... it belonged to (and resolved to!) messagelabs.
Surely I cannot be the only one in this boat with Messagelabs, Postini or any other number of mail filtering services?
I have correctly configured SPF 1&2, SenderID and Domainkeys.
When i spoke to Messagelabs - I did not get intelligent responses.
ie. Messagelabs had no clue.
It seems a fundamental problem and one that it not going to go away?
Any experiences here?
cheers
jon
Commercial Director at Pure360
26 February 2008 14:54pm
Jon
Couple of thoughts
Message Labs, Postini are both pretty decent firms and I doubt they would develop a product with such an obvious flaw. This leads me to believe that they don't intend you to do mass mailings to B2C domains.
If this is true then your only option (other than employing the services of a company like Pure).....
Setup a new domain and mail sever without message labs on it, you can then apply domain keys, SPF, sender ID, feedback loops and all the other gubbins. Or if it is possible at your end create a subdomain of your main domain again with the same records.
Not exactly original thinking on my part but I hope it helps.
Marc
Pure
marc.munier@pure360.com
On 09:54:57 26 February 2008 JonBov wrote:
Director at Watson Hall Ltd
04 March 2008 17:25pm
Jon
It also occurs with B2B email. Try referring your MessageLabs contacts to http://www.openspf.org/Best_Practices/Forwarding and http://www.openspf.org/SRS
You may need to partition your outgoing mail into recipient domains that reject solely on failed SPF and those that don't.
Regards
Colin Watson
Technical Director
Watson Hall Ltd for website security