scam do you think? need advice
Job of the week
Featured threads
- How relevant do links need to be? 14 replies
- Tracking Online Response to Marketing/Communications Activities 8 replies
- Behavioural targeting software 4 replies
- Penalty avoidance on English-speaking foreign sites 5 replies
- 3 way linking - good or bad? 21 replies
Most viewed threads in last month
Most active threads in last month
- Best Practice SEO Guide Jan 2012 1 reply
- eurovarkark 0 replies
- ZNAP 0 replies
- internet marketing consulting service 0 replies
- How to build your audience in social networks? 0 replies



home
11 November 2007 21:44pm
Hi
Im looking for some advise, or confirmation if you will. A company i have been using for SEO work has "offered" me an opportunity to buy a "keyphrase" for direct navigation marketing in the U.S market for about 600 pounds (1300 Dollars) which he tells me can be sold to a U.S buyer for over 30 grand this week
Im thinking its a scam, do you agree!?
this is a copy of the email he sent me initially
"Basically we are 1 of 3 resellers for a product here called direct
navigation. It's never picked up in this country but is massive in the
states due to advertising heavily etc. The basis of it is that 60% of the
users over there have whats called a download on their browser which
enables them to view this and companies buy keywords such as car hire - when anyone goes on the net and up to the address bar rather than
typing in www.etc etc they just type in the keyword and it goes through
to one companies website.
The way we get rid of these in general is that we get an opening offer
from a potential client and then ask if a uk company would like to
register the keyword - i'll give you an example below;
a client from the states contacted us about the keyword health insurance
with an oprning offer of £37,000
a uk client of ours registered it for £2500
the us client and another 2 companies then went to a bidding war until
our uk guy was happy with the money
the outcome was that our uk client walked away with £86,000 in his hand
and we get an extra £50,000 a year by using him as a leverage.
At the moment there is abidding war on for "certain phrase" which is up to
£27,500 with a long way to go and we're currently asking UK clients if
there want to register the keyword and then get the 1st years
registration cost from the states and we recieve it every year after."
quick response would be greatfully accepted as im meeting this guy in the morning!
Owner at Hit Search
14 November 2007 10:05am
He will sell to you something for £600 that can be sold for £30K? You have to ask why?
Walks like a scam; and quacks like a scam. Best to steer clear by the sound of things.
Andy Redfern
HitSearch Limited
www.hitsearchlimited.com
Online Marketing Director at Emart.co.uk
23 November 2007 17:02pm
I have seen this type of thing in various guises and as far as I know none of them will help your website SEO, but will help theirs and cost you a fortune in the process.
Quite frankly the best way is to optimise your website and let the search engines do the rest in their own time. Much cheaper and more effective, if a little longer.
You could back this up with some ppc campaigns.
Richard