Could anyone shed any light as to why this site is still being indexed by Google? http://www.safeandsecurelocksmiths.co.uk - were the kind of SEO techniques adopted here (white text on white bg, repeating search terms - see the source code for a full idea) not automatically blacklisted by the likes of Googlebot from quite a few years ago.. Currently this site is performing fantasically for key search terms such as Locksmiths nw3 which is perplexing.
I'll look forward to thoughts from any SEO or other online marketing professionals...
Mmm.... there's certainly some quite impressively poor practice going on there, but it's working! Disappointing indeed that Google haven't punished this behaviour automatically.
It's possible that this isn't a 'real' lock smith but a very sharp affiliate who's managing to successfully get away with things for the moment?
Or maybe Google is keeping the site there because of the direct links it's got from highly reputable sites like... E-consultancy.com (thanks to you ;) ).
Black hat is arguably the best way to get lots of backlinks and improve your rankings? Ask BMW... ;)
The SEO Best Practice: Index Inclusion Guide is part of Econsultancy's renowned SEO Best Practice Guide and is has been created with the help and frontline insight of globally-esteemed SEO practitioners, in order to give you the edge in your natural search marketing activity.
The State of Search Marketing Report 2012, published by Econsultancy in association with SEMPO, looks in-depth at how companies are using paid search, search engine optimization (natural search) and social media marketing. The report looks closely at current practices and emerging trends across paid search and SEO, as well as their relationship with social media.
Head of Usability & Conversion at PRWD
24 January 2007 11:56am
Could anyone shed any light as to why this site is still being indexed by Google?
http://www.safeandsecurelocksmiths.co.uk - were the kind of SEO techniques adopted here (white text on white bg, repeating search terms - see the source code for a full idea) not automatically blacklisted by the likes of Googlebot from quite a few years ago..
Currently this site is performing fantasically for key search terms such as Locksmiths nw3 which is perplexing.
I'll look forward to thoughts from any SEO or other online marketing professionals...
Director of eCommerce at A well known Telco
24 January 2007 12:27pm
As I understand it, badly behaved sites only get Blacklisted when someone actually tells Google directly.
Google then allocate an engineer to the issue and make a decision to pull it or not.
More often than not its a competitor that tells Google.
Its an ugly business this Blacksmith industry...
CEO at Econsultancy
24 January 2007 16:10pm
Mmm.... there's certainly some quite impressively poor practice going on there, but it's working! Disappointing indeed that Google haven't punished this behaviour automatically.
It's possible that this isn't a 'real' lock smith but a very sharp affiliate who's managing to successfully get away with things for the moment?
Or maybe Google is keeping the site there because of the direct links it's got from highly reputable sites like... E-consultancy.com (thanks to you ;) ).
Black hat is arguably the best way to get lots of backlinks and improve your rankings? Ask BMW... ;)
Ashley
Partner at The Winter Partnership
26 January 2007 10:08am
I just sent a little friendly imitation search robot in to take a look!
Guess what!
Warning: The server returned an error.
Error:
500 Can't connect to www.safeandsecurelocksmiths.co.uk:80...
Now I can see the page quite clearly.
Strange!
Paul