1. Paul Winter

    Partner at The Winter Partnership

    25 January 2007 21:46pm

    Paul Winter

    I just sent a little friendly imitation search robot in to take a look!

    Guess what!

    Warning: The server returned an error.

    Error:

    500 Can't connect to www.safeandsecurelocksmiths.co.uk:80...

    Now I can see the page quite clearly.

    Strange!

    Paul

  2. dan barker

    E-Business Consultant at Dan Barker

    26 January 2007 11:15am

    dan barker

    hi, Paul, how are you?

    I don't think they're cloaking it from search engines if that's what you mean: google has a cached version of the page grabbed on the 22nd January.

    Also - if they were cloaking from search engines, blocking them out completely would soon drop them out of the SERPs.

    hope that's some help!

    daniel

  3. Deri Jones

    CEO at SciVisum.co.uk

    26 January 2007 19:22pm

    Deri Jones

    Hi Paul, it's a whacky page - the HTML alone is 500k (ie way too big for a homepage), and is full of spam text that the user doesn't see but is intended I guess to score well with SEO... but not done so well... just starting in the header...why is the *exact same* <meta name="keywords"...> included 8 odd times?

    Looks funny in Firefox too.

    Don't know who made the page - but perhaps this is a clue that maybe it was an amateur:
    <html xmlns:v="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml"
    xmlns:o="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" Deri

    On 11:15:00 26 January 2007 danielb wrote:

    hi, Paul, how are you?

    I don't think they're cloaking it from search engines if that's what you mean: google has a cached version of the page grabbed on the 22nd January.

    Also - if they were cloaking from search engines, blocking them out completely would soon drop them out of the SERPs.

    hope that's some help!

    daniel

  4. Andrew Smith

    Head Of E-Commerce at JWI Ltd

    27 January 2007 11:28am

    Andrew Smith

    Go to the page and just press Ctrl+A. then scroll down, this shows you how much hidden text is on the page. Report it to Google if you want:

    http://www.google.co.uk/contact/spamreport.html

     It doesn't seem to rank on Google for their main keywords i'm confident Google wil figure out this is spam if it hasn't already.

    It always surprises me that people are still stupid enough to do this kind of crap!

Reply to this thread

Log in to reply to this thread or join Econsultancy for free so you can post to our forums along with other benefits.