{{ searchResult.published_at | date:'d MMMM yyyy' }}

Loading ...
Loading ...

Enter a search term such as “mobile analytics” or browse our content using the filters above.

No_results

That’s not only a poor Scrabble score but we also couldn’t find any results matching “”.
Check your spelling or try broadening your search.

Logo_distressed

Sorry about this, there is a problem with our search at the moment.
Please try again later.

When you delete a photo that you had uploaded to a social network, what happens?

You might expect that it's deleted. After all, why would Facebook, for instance, want to store that old photo of you and Aunt Hilda any longer than it has to? Even you don't want that photo.

But according to researchers at Cambridge University, deleting your photos from popular websites isn't a guarantee that they'll actually be deleted.

The researchers uploaded photos to 16 popular websites, recorded the direct URLs to the images and then proceeded to delete them. 30 days later, their photos were still accessible on seven of the sites. One of those sites was Facebook, which tells users that their photos are removed "immediately" upon deletion.

A Facebook spokesman blamed the phenomenon on the fact that the photos were cached on Facebook's CDN. Hardly an excuse after 30 days.

This simple but interesting study demonstrates that some of the most popular websites are pretty lazy when it comes to protecting the privacy of their users in the most basic of ways (eg. deleting their content when requested). This is why it's so important to think twice about what content you do upload; once it's up, you may not be able to pull it down.

Another interesting aspect to this: companies that don't remove content after it has been 'deleted' by the user are burdening themselves with additional costs. Even though one photo won't break the bank, if you consider the possibility that some of these services are storing tons of content that isn't being used, you could see how the costs could eventually be noticeable.

In my opinion, companies should remove content when users go through the motions to delete it and if you run a service that stores user-generated content, you should make sure that you're doing so.

Photo credit: freeparking via Flickr.

Patricio Robles

Published 22 May, 2009 by Patricio Robles

Patricio Robles is a tech reporter at Econsultancy. Follow him on Twitter.

2380 more posts from this author

Comments (2)

Avatar-blank-50x50

claire

That sounds bad, i would hope that my photos would be deleted. Especially if a friend puts a really embarrassing photo online and then you ask them to delete it, and then it appears somewhere else.

about 7 years ago

Avatar-blank-50x50

wwwfacebookcouk

The way people use facebook, with the seamless transistion from profile to application to external website, who these days is paying too much attention to the page URL.  The only way it seems to retieve these 'deleted' pictures is to reuse the URL - and who really will know what they are?

about 7 years ago

Comment
No-profile-pic
Save or Cancel
Daily_pulse_signup_wide

Enjoying this article?

Get more just like this, delivered to your inbox.

Keep up to date with the latest analysis, inspiration and learning from the Econsultancy blog with our free Daily Pulse newsletter. Each weekday, you ll receive a hand-picked digest of the latest and greatest articles, as well as snippets of new market data, best practice guides and trends research.