After publishing an interview with Dog’s Trust about its use of Twitter for raising awareness and fundraising, I’ve had quite a few contacts from charities and representatives who also use Twitter.

Following the example of PRBlogger’s very useful list of UK journalists on Twitter, I’ve compiled one for charity organisations and others who are using the service to promote some worthy causes.

There are more charities using Twitter than I first thought, but there are a few big names I haven’t found Twitter accounts for, NSPCC, Childline, RSPCA are just three that spring to mind.

Here is a list of the charities I’ve found on Twitter so far:

Charities

ActionAid UK: http://twitter.com/ActionAidUK

AICR (Internationsl Cancer Research): http://twitter.com/AICR

Amnesty UK: http://twitter.com/AmnestyUK

AsthmaUK: http://twitter.com/AsthmaUK

Barnardos: http://twitter.com/Barnardos

Beatbullying: http://twitter.com/Beatbullying

Bletchley Park Trust: http://twitter.com/bletchleypark

British Red Cross: http://twitter.com/BritishRedCross

Bullying UK: http://twitter.com/bullyinguk

CAFOD: http://twitter.com/CAFOD

Campaign to Protect Rural England: http://twitter.com/CPRE

Cancernursing: http://twitter.com/cancernursing

Child’s i Foundation: http://twitter.com/childsi

Citizenship Foundation: http://twitter.com/citizenship

Compassion in World Farming: http://twitter.com/ciwf

Computer Aid: http://twitter.com/Computer_Aid

Contact a Family: http://twitter.com/contactafamily

Diabetes UK: http://twitter.com/DiabetesUK

Dog’s Trust: http://twitter.com/dogstrust

Fairtrade UK: http://twitter.com/FairtradeUK

Family Holiday Association: http://twitter.com/famholidayassoc

Gambian Enterprise: http://twitter.com/gambian_charity

Greenpeace: http://twitter.com/greenpeaceuk

Hearing Dogs: http://twitter.com/HearingDogs

Henry Moore Foundation: http://twitter.com/henry_moore 

Learn As One: http://twitter.com/LearnAsOne

Lesbian & Gay Foundation: http://twitter.com/lgfoundation

Macmillan Cancer Support: http://twitter.com/macmillancancer

MS Society: http://twitter.com/mssocietyuk

National Autistic Society: http://twitter.com/thinkdifferent

National Trust: http://twitter.com/nationaltrust

Ovacome: http://twitter.com/ovacome

Oxfam (UK): http://twitter.com/oxfamgb

Papworth Trust: http://twitter.com/papworth_trust

Plan UK: http://twitter.com/planuk

RNIB: http://twitter.com/rnib

RSPB: http://twitter.com/Natures_Voice

RSPCA: http://twitter.com/RSPCAbuzz

Shelter Cymru: http://twitter.com/shelter_cymru

StandUp Campaign: http://twitter.com/standupcampaign

TimeBank: http://twitter.com/timebank

UNICEF: http://twitter.com/unicef_uk

War Child: http://twitter.com/warchild

WaterAid: http://twitter.com/wateraid

Weldmar Hospice Care: http://twitter.com/weldmar

WhizzKidz: http://twitter.com/WhizzKidz

Women’s Resource Centre: http://twitter.com/whywomen

WWF: http://twitter.com/WWF_UK_web

Yorkshire Cancer Research: http://twitter.com/yorkshirecancer

Young Jains UK: http://twitter.com/YoungJains

YouthAct: http://twitter.com/Youth_Act

YouthNet: http://twitter.com/YouthNetUK

Fundraisers

BuyOnceGiveTwice: http://twitter.com/b1g2

AnOliveBranch: http://twitter.com/anolivebranch

JustGiving: http://twitter.com/justgiving

NCVO: http://twitter.com/NCVO

Third Sector Forums: http://twitter.com/thirdsectorlab

Twestival London: http://twitter.com/ldntwestival

Firstgiving: http://twitter.com/firstgiving

Fundraising consultants / charity workers etc

Louise Barker (RNIB): http://twitter.com/louisebarker

Rachel Beer: http://twitter.com/rachelbeer

Steve Bridger: http://twitter.com/stevebridger

Patrick Daniels (YouthNet): http://twitter.com/paddaniels

Mike Hankey (Cancer Research): http://twitter.com/mikehankey

Howard Lake: http://twitter.com/howardlake

Ray Mitchell (Age Concern): http://twitter.com/seetheelephant

tashjudd (YouthNet): http://twitter.com/tashjudd

UK Fundraising: http://twitter.com/ukfundraising

Jonathan Waddingham (JustGiving): http://twitter.com/jon_bedford

This is not a comprehensive list, and I’m bound to have missed some charities, consultants and others so leave a comment below if you or your charity belongs here, and I’ll update accordingly…