Having looked at the use of Twitter by charities in the UK, and being impressed by number of organisations that have used it to promote their causes, I’ve decided to take a look at how many retailers are using the service.

There are some great examples of companies using Twitter in the US; Zappos has used it to communicate with customers and for marketing purposes, while Dell says it has made $1m in sales from using Twitter.

So how many UK retailers have signed up for a Twitter account?

I couldn’t find some of the more well-known high street retailers; M&S, Next, and others have no presence, and their Twitter profiles seem to have been hijacked. I’m listing as many as I can find here, but if your company is on Twitter, or you are aware of any I have missed, let me know below…

Adnams: http://twitter.com/Adnams

Arena Flowers: http://twitter.com/arenaflowers

ASDA: http://twitter.com/asda

ASOS: http://twitter.com/ASOS

Audible.co.uk http://twitter.com/audibleuk

Book Depository: http://twitter.com/bookdepository

CarphoneWarehouse: http://twitter.com/carphoneware

Catwalk to Closet: http://twitter.com/catwalktocloset

CPW customer service – Guy Stephens (see recent interview with Guy): http://twitter.com/guy1067

CD Wow: http://twitter.com/CDWOWUK

Conran Shop: http://twitter.com/Conran_shop

Debenhams: http://twitter.com/DebenhamsRetail

Dixons: http://twitter.com/dixonsonline

eBayUK: http://twitter.com/eBayUK

Ebuyer: http://twitter.com/Ebuyerdotcom

eSpares: http://twitter.com/espares

Ethical Superstore: http://twitter.com/ethicalstore

Expedia: http://twitter.com/expediatravel

Figleaves: http://twitter.com/figleaveshome

Firebox: http://twitter.com/firebox

French Connection: http://twitter.com/FrenchConn39

Hello Baby: http://twitter.com/hellobabydirect

Joules Clothing:http://twitter.com/Joules_Clothing

Lastminute.com: http://twitter.com/lastminute_com

Little Sunflowers: http://twitter.com/littlesunflower

Littlewoods: http://twitter.com/LittlewoodsDeal

LoveFilm: http://twitter.com/LOVEFiLM_UK

Moo.com: http://twitter.com/overheardatmoo/

mydeco: http://twitter.com/mydeco

Naked Wines: http://twitter.com/nakedwines

NET-A-PORTER: http://twitter.com/Luxury_Fashion

O2: http://twitter.com/o2ukofficial

Ocado: http://twitter.com/ocadouk

Office: http://twitter.com/OfficeShoes

Penguin Books: http://twitter.com/PenguinBooks

PicStop: http://twitter.com/picstop

Play.com: http://twitter.com/playcom

Real Flower Company: http://twitter.com/realflowergirl

Riverford Organic: http://twitter.com/riverford

Rowperfect: http://twitter.com/Rowperfect

Sillyjokes: http://twitter.com/sillyjokes

Smythson: http://twitter.com/Smythson

Soletrader: http://twitter.com/soletrader

TalkTalk: http://twitter.com/TalkTalkTips

thehut.com: http://twitter.com/thehut_com

Thomas Cook: http://twitter.com/ThomasCookUK

Tie Warehouse: http://twitter.com/tiewarehouse

Wallace Sacks: http://twitter.com/wallacesacks

Waterstones: http://twitter.com/waterstonesltd

Webtogs: http://twitter.com/Webtogs

Wiggle Bikeshop: http://twitter.com/wigglebikeshop

Woolworths (new): http://twitter.com/team_woolies

Zavvi: http://twitter.com/zavvionline