The Association of Online Publishers’ (AOP) Digital Publishing Awards, now in its ninth year, opens its call for entries from 26th January 2010. The popular industry awards event will take place at the legendary music venue The Roundhouse, Camden, London NW1 on Thursday 10th June, 2010 – download an online entry form and full details at

Lee Baker, Director of AOP comments, “We have an enthusiastic and highly competitive industry, that we’re sure will rise to the challenge of submitting entries that prove the digital sector has the focus and muscle to hold its own. Our Awards specifically showcase publishers who continually push the boundaries of innovation and commercial success. The Awards are designed to recognise and reward those businesses and individuals in the publishing sector that have made a difference to our industry.

“In recognition of the technological and advertising talent engaging with the industry, we have expanded the categories to acknowledge their contribution in driving digital media forward. We look forward to welcoming the publishing community to our Awards ceremony and gala dinner in June.” Lee concludes.

This year, the two new categories introduced are: Agency Campaign for Media Brand – an opportunity to award agencies engaged by a digital publisher for the delivery of a campaign that best promotes that media owner’s brand or brands. Best Ad Technology Platform - this award will be given to the best existing, new or improved third party ad technology provider that has demonstrated the most effective results in driving digital publishers’ revenue forward. A full list of the awards categories is attached and located here

The full list of 18 categories for 2010

• Launch 2010
• Editorial team 2010 – business & consumer
• Research and insights project 2010
• Digital advertising sales team 2010
• Commercial Partnership 2010
• Innovation 2010
• Cross-media project 2010
• Use of Mobile 2010
• Agency Campaign for Media Brand 2010 – New!
• Use of video 2010
• Best Ad Technology Platform 2010 – New!
• Digital Editorial Individual 2010
• Website 2010 – business & consumer
• Specialist Digital Publisher 2010
• Digital Publisher 2010 – business & consumer

The AOP Awards are aimed at companies who operate in the UK; with the exception of the ‘Best Ad Technology Platform’ and ‘Agency & Digital Publisher Partnership’ categories, only digital publishers may enter the AOP Awards. Digital publishers in this instance are defined as companies whose principal focus online is to create original published content for direct consumption by consumers, via the web ('destination sites') and other digital platforms. The AOP Awards recognise digital publishing excellence achieved from 1st February 2009 to 31st January 2010. The call for entries opens on 21st January 2010, and closes mid March 2010. Register interest for the AOP Awards 2010 at:

- ends -

Further information from:
Lorette Nettar, PR, AOP 07968 521 684 /

Editor’s Notes

The AOP Digital Publishing Awards is in its ninth year in 2010. The AOP Awards 2009, which was attended by over 650 people last year, saw Bauer Media pick up Best Consumer Website for; Econsultancy won Best Specialist Digital Publisher; Telegraph Media Group won Best Consumer Digital Publisher; and TSL Education won Best Business Digital Publisher and Best Business Website with TES Connect. A full list of last year’s results and winning entries here:
About AOP
The UK Association of Online Publishers (AOP) is the industry body representing online publishing companies that create original, branded, quality content. AOP champions the interests of companies from newspaper and magazine publishing, TV and radio broadcasting, and pure online media. The AOP raises awareness and addresses concerns relating to all areas of online publishing to industry and Government; covering topics such as paid-for-content, online subscription models, data protection, copyright, content management, new technologies and audience measurement. AOP publishes original research including the annual Census now in its seventh year. It also hosts forums, conferences and events, where members can debate issues, meet peers and network.

The AOP hosts two annual flagship industry events, the AOP Digital Publishing Awards which will be held 10 June 2010, and the AOP Digital Publishing Summit which will be held in October 2010.

AOP Members include AN Digital, Bauer Consumer Media, BBC, BBC Worldwide, BSkyB, CBS Interactive, Channel 4 New Media, Condé Nast Digital, Economist Group, Financial Times, Future Publishing, Global Radio, Guardian Media Group, Haymarket Media Group, Incisive Media, Independent New Ventures, IPC Media, ITV, The National Magazine Company, News International Ltd, PPA, Reed Business Information, Telegraph Media Group Ltd, Thomson Reuters, Trader Media, Trinity Mirror, TSL Education, Which?

Published on: 3:11PM on 26th January 2010