The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) unveiled the winners of its ninth Digital Publishing Awards at The Roundhouse, Camden on 10 June 2010 at a Gala event presented by Suzi Perry, co-host of Five’s Gadget Show, with entertainment from MTV favourites “We Are Scientists”.

Tim Faircliff, AOP Chairman and General Manager, Consumer Media, Thomson Reuters says, “The AOP is pleased to have hosted this master-class in innovation, commercial success and effectiveness in the digital publishing industry’s continuing drive to produce original, branded, quality content. The AOP represents and champions the interests of companies from newspaper and magazine publishing, TV and radio broadcasting and pure online media – and our annual awards recognise and reward those businesses that strive further to grow and develop the sector. Once again, we are delighted that these awards are a showcase for the cream of UK consumer and business publishers.”

The Digital Publisher - Business was presented to Incisive Media; this year the category was elevated to a Gold Award to reflect the privileged distinction of this prize overall at the AOP Awards.

The Guardian was the only publisher to pick up multiple awards with six separate wins for Launch, Research & Insights Project, Innovation, Use of Video, Digital Publisher - Consumer (Gold Award); and Matthew Weaver won Digital Editorial Individual.

Magenta Technology & 24/7 Real Media with their product Maxifier won the Ad Sales Technology Platform, in a competitive category which had seven other companies shortlisted. The new category was introduced this year to recognise the crucial role played by ad technology providers in driving digital publishers’ revenue forward.

IPC won Website - Consumer for, while RBI took home Website -Business for Flightglobal; BBC was awarded Cross-Media Project; UBM walked away with Editorial Team/Business, and Telegraph Media Group picked up Editorial Team/Consumer; Future Publishing received Digital Advertising Sales Team; Global Radio achieved best Commercial Partnership; Trader Media snapped up Use of Mobile; Magicalia Digital Publishing was awarded Specialist Digital Publisher.

- ends –

Full details of category winners, submission summary and judges' comments linked here:
Photographs from event linked here:

About AOP
The UK Association of Online Publishers (AOP) is the industry body representing online publishing companies that create original, branded, quality content. AOP champions the interests of companies from newspaper and magazine publishing, TV and radio broadcasting, and pure online media. The AOP raises awareness, and addresses concerns relating to all areas of online publishing to industry and Government; covering topics such as paid-for-content, online subscription models, data protection, copyright, content management, new technologies and audience measurement. AOP publishes original research including the annual Census now in its eighth year. It also hosts forums, conferences and events, where members can debate issues, meet peers and network.

The AOP hosts two annual flagship industry events, the AOP Digital Publishing Awards, held on 10 June 2010 at The Roundhouse, Camden; and the AOP Digital Publishing Summit scheduled for 15 October 2010.

AOP Members include AN Digital, Bauer Consumer Media, BBC, BSkyB, CBS Interactive, Channel 4 New Media, Condé Nast Digital, Economist Group, Financial Times, Future Publishing, Global Radio, Guardian Media Group, Haymarket Media Group, Incisive Media, Independent New Ventures, IPC Media, ITV, The National Magazine Company, News International Ltd, PPA, Reed Business Information, Telegraph Media Group Ltd, Thomson Reuters, Trader Media, Trinity Mirror, TSL Education, Which?

Published on: 6:53PM on 14th June 2010